Scholarship recipients named at 34th Artrageous Kids Art Festival

Scholarship recipients named at 34th Artrageous Kids Art Festival

Hundreds of families gathered at Dowdy Park in Nags Head on Sat., May 13, for a fun-filled day of visual and performing arts at the 34th Annual Artrageous Kids Art Festival presented by PNC Bank.


In between the live music and dance performances, Dare Arts Executive Director Jessica Sands took the stage and announced the 2023 Artrageous scholarship recipients.

“Each year we look forward to awarding a senior from each Dare County high school a scholarship from the Artrageous Youth Scholarship Fund,” said Dare Arts Executive Director Jessica Sands. “We are thrilled to support these talented young artists.”


The 2023 Artrageous scholarship recipients are Grace Shoemaker (Cape Hatteras Secondary School), Jay Moxley (Manteo High School) and Sydney York (First Flight High School).

“I’m honored that I was chosen for this scholarship,” said Sydney York. “I worked hard on my essay, and it made me very happy when I found out that I was chosen. This scholarship will be helping me attend Appalachian State University to study in their Honor’s College. I’ll be majoring in computer science and minoring in cinematography/film studies. I’m really excited for college, and thanks to the Artrageous scholarship, the tuition burden that is on me to pay is a little bit lighter.”

Moxley will be attending University of Rhode Island and plans to major in theater with a focus in directing.


Shoemaker will be attending Pitt Community College and is pursuing an associate degree in Fine Arts.


Dare Arts thanks The Don and Catharine Bryan Cultural Series and artist Paul Shampine for sponsoring Artrageous.


This project is supported by the North Carolina Arts Council, a division of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources. 


This project is sponsored by the Outer Banks Visitors Bureau.


For more information about the event, please visit or call (252) 473-5558.

Dare Arts is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit arts organization dedicated to encouraging the arts in Dare County through advocacy, enrichment and opportunity.