Meet Albemarle Area United Way’s newest Board Directors – OBX Today

Meet Albemarle Area United Way’s newest Board Directors - OBX Today
(Courtesy Albemarle Area United Way)

Albemarle Area United Way is excited to announce our newest Board of Directors. Recently elected, they are making a difference by joining the ranks of other community leaders with the goal of helping people reach their full potential in the Albemarle Area. Officially starting their terms on July 1, 2024 are the following five new Board of Directors: Tyler Russell, Clark Twiddy, Heidi Prentiss, Jesse Stallings and Bobby Ramage.

Tyler Russell
Tyler is currently an insurance agent with NC Farm Bureau in Chowan County. He is a graduate of NC State, with a Bachelor of Science degree in Sport Management. Prior to joining Farm Bureau, Tyler was the General Manager of local summer collegiate baseball team, the Edenton Steamers, for nine years. Outside of his community involvement through the Steamers, he also served on the Chowan County Tourism Development Authority Board for over six years. Tyler is originally from Sunbury. He now resides in Edenton with his wife and son.

Clark Twiddy
Clark is the President of Twiddy & Company, an asset management and hospitality firm along North Carolina’s Outer Banks. He has also served on a range of public, private, non-profit, and government boards in positions from volunteer to Chair. An alumnus of VMI, Tennessee, and Northwestern’s Kellogg School of Management, he is also a combat veteran of the US Navy. Most importantly, he is the husband of Anna Twiddy and father of two young daughters. 

Heidi Prentiss
We’re thrilled to reconnect with Heidi Prentiss, who served on staff at AAUW before retiring in 2021. Prior she was employed as the Community Outreach Coordinator for Albemarle Hopeline, a partner agency of AAUW, which serves survivors of domestic and sexual violence in Northeastern NC. Prentiss has previously served on numerous community boards including Hopeline, Pasquotank County Community Advisory Committee and Elizabeth City Foundation. She is married to Don Prentiss, a partner with Hornthal, Riley, Ellis & Maland. Her interests include traveling whenever possible, exercise, hiking and outdoor activities and spending time in the mountains of NC.

Jesse Stallings
Born in Norfolk VA and moved to Camden NC when he was in elementary school. After college at Old Dominion University, he moved to Elizabeth City to begin work at Tidewater Computer. After a brief time there, Jesse worked for Currituck County Schools and became their senior technology person at the age of 23. After 5 years at the school system, he started Practical Computing as a side business, and left the school system within a year, which was in 2003. He married Rachel in 2011, who works as office manager and oversees residential rental property. Approximately 5 years ago, we decided to focus mainly on cloud-based phone systems due to market shifts. Changed the trade name of our business to Albemarle Telecom and currently serves approximately 65 local businesses, county governments, and non-profit organizations. We have a staff of 3 and enjoy bringing small town customer service to our customers.

Bobby Ramage 
Bobby Ramage is the Store Manager for Publix Supermarkets in Kill Devil Hills. He has worked for Publix for over 10 years and is now in third state with company. Originally from south of Atlanta, GA a small town called Forsyth. He is an outdoor enthusiast, who loves to fish, hunt, the sport of archery and overall being outdoors. Married for 2 years to lovely wife Shelli. With our crazy life we have 3 dogs (Chocolate lab, Boykin Spaniel, and a King Charles Cavalier) as well as 1 cat. My wife and I are excited to finish building our house in Camden County where we are excited to grow our future family as we are currently expecting.

We further wish to thank all of our existing board members who serve to make our region the best place to live, work and play. They include Tammy Sawyer, Becky Elliott, Brian Harvill, Ray Tuner, Chief Chris Carver, Damian Dondero, Lauren Spruill, Denise Brothers, Dr. Tiffany Hinton, Rev. Arthur Manigault, Bryan Spence, Holly White, Deborah White, Dr. Keith Parker, Jamie Koch, Melissa Verkuillen, CDR Hedi Koski, and John Shannon. 

Special thanks to Katherine Rogers, Kelly Herr and Will Norrell who will complete their 6 year terms on June 30th.